Monday, February 17, 2014

Stages of Grace by Carey Heywood Review

Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, Acceptance...

When facing death a mourning period is to be expected. But what if it's not a person but a relationship that dies? Grace and her boyfriend Jon have been together for three years. They live together and have shared many beautiful memories. Those memories are what keep Grace from admitting Jon has changed and is no longer the man she fell in love with.

Afraid of being alone and holding on to something that no longer exists Grace is a shadow of her former self. Her daily objective is to hide her pain from the world. Then, an unexpected letter sets off a whirlwind of potential life changes. In life sometimes the hardest thing to do is let go.
My Thoughts:
3.5/ 5 Stars
This story was full of heartbreak, love, and changes.
I found this book to be enjoyable, but slow at the beginning.
I hated seeing Grace's boyfriend treat her terrible like he did and my heart ached each time she had to go home. The shit she put up with on a day to day basis was enough to kill a woman. She was so strong and it was amazing to see her carefree in Florida.
I loved Ryan and how they instantly had a connection. He treated her as a woman should be treated and I'm not sure she knew how to handle it.
Grace tries to let her guard down, but still has Jon in the back of her head.
When returns from Florida Jon basically ends whatever they had and she decides to go back to Florida. Ryan and her move forward and begin to date. Their dates are romantic and unforgettable. Grace smiles again.... 
The Author did a fabulous job writing a heart felt story about moving on and letting your heart love again.
I recommend this book to all readers.

No comments:

Post a Comment